

Monday 31th October 2022, Page No.8 KG Subbarama Setty: among 67 Rajyotsava awardees

Rajyotsava awardees among

TIMES NEWS NETWORK

day released a list of 67 Raivotsava awardees who will be honoured on the 67th Kannada Rajvotsava Day.

Among those who won the awards include former Isro chairman K Sivan (science and technology), and Daiva Nartaka Gudda Panara from Udupi under the Janapada (folk art) category. The government also honoured a pourakarmika from Vijavanagara district. Malamma Huvinahadagali.

It is said most of the awardees were those who had not applied for it. The government had received close to 6,000 applications this year. The awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and 25 grams gold along with citation on November 1. Sivan dedicated the honour to the Isro team which worked behind the scenes for every successful endeavour of India's space organisation. "I'm

happy that the Karnataka government found it fit to confer the government on Sun- me with their state award. This recognition is for all the work done by the Isro family. I will be accepting this award on behalf of all the 16,000 people at Isro whose commitment to the national space programme is unrivalled. It is all their efforts together that has brought this recognition," said Sivan.

> Gudda Panara, 68, said: "It is an honour indeed. The entirevillage, religion and the God has supported and shown me the path." Panara has been into Daivaradhane as a Daiva Nartaka for the past 38 years.

> The award comes in the backdrop of the popularity of the recent Kannada blockbuster movie, 'Kantara', that showcased the coastal dance form.

Mallamma, who has retired from service after 34 years, said: "I never expected this honour. The government has recognised my service and I'm grateful." Other notable awardees

5 from CM's home dist

Tour people and an L'organisation have been selected for the award from Haveri, the home district of CM Basavarai Bommai.

They include theatre artist Srishail Huddar from Shiggaon. MS Korishettar (social service) from Haveri and Hirekerur-based folk artist Maheshwaragouda Lingadahalli and Agadi Tota, a which promotes organic agriculture.

include Kannada actors HG Dattatreva, Avinash and television actor Sihi Kahi Chandru.

Dattanna told TOI that he's receiving the award on behalf of all those deserving this accolade but missed it. "I'm thankful to those who have promoted me in theatre, movies and TV serials," he said.

Another personality from Bengaluru included the treasurer of RV Group of Institutions, KG Subbarama Setty, who was selected under the miscellaneous category.

Some prominent contributors to society who won the award are Soliga Madamma who was one of the key players in the successful cooperative movement among the Soliga tribe in Chamarajanagar.

Other awardees

M Krishnegowda from St Philomena's College in Mysuru (literature), former MLC D Madegowda (social service), Prabhakar Joshi (Yakshagana) and Ananthacharva Katageri (music). Katageri, who is 96 years now, said: "This is an honour to music and all musicians."

The Kannada and culture department also recognised the service of 10 institutions, including Ramakrishna Ashram from Mysuru, Amrutha Shishu Nivasa from Bengaluru and Nammane Summane, a rehabilitation home for transgenders.